top of page
Writer's pictureVicky Thompson

Secret Art Sale - Habitats and Heritage

Updated: Sep 30, 2022

I am SO excited to be part of this project.



The idea is that artists submit A5 artworks that are sold at an affordable price for charity (I think £45 this year) but the name of the artist is not revealed until the piece is sold.

There are a number of celebrities and professional artists who take part so it's a great way to potentially pick up a bargain, whilst also supporting a good cause.


I believe a number of charities do something similar to this, but this year I have supported Habitats and Heritage who have the following aims:


Understanding the deep connection between urban nature and history we take care of our local landscape; its wildlife, ecosystems and heritage by:

  • Using our local knowledge and experience to lead the way in protecting and creating a better and more sustainable environment for everyone.

  • Working in partnership with others to raise awareness and address local environmental and heritage issues.

  • Bringing people together to better understand, learn about, connect with and enjoy their local environment and heritage.

  • Empowering and mobilising communities to enhance and maintain the spaces they care about.

  • Building better quality habitats and ecosystems for nature and wildlife to thrive.

  • Encouraging accessibility and involvement to ensure everyone enjoys and experiences the positive health and wellbeing benefits from spending time in our natural and historic environment.


This is their website: https://habitatsandheritage.org.uk


I have submitted two pieces of work which are now uploaded and visable on their gallery for this year.


I can't yet identify which pieces are mine, as the sale isn't due to take place until the end of this month, but do have fun perusing all the work submitted here:




Update

Well, I am absolutely flabbergasted! My submission was bought in less than an hour of the sale going live! I can't believe it!!!


The organisation also chose to include my work in their promotional videos and emails as well which was such an exciting thing to see.


So without further ado, here was my submission called: Together, we're unbreakable:


It's my take on the Japanese art of mending using gold, which makes the broken item stronger and more valuable than it was prior to the damage.



Sadly my other piece didn't sell, but quite honestly I thought it might not as the thumbnail didn't really do it justice. But, I'm just so happy I've been able to help this charity and someone liked my work enough to buy it

*does a happy dance*

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page