top of page
Writer's pictureVicky Thompson

Sketchbook Circle 2022 - Playful Markmaking

This sketchbook theme was very interesting. Firstly, I loved the way the initial artist had made the sketchbook.

It's made from two painted cardboard covers, with loose leaf sketch paper inside, wrapped up in a woolen plaited cord. It was so lovely to work in such an unconventional sketchbook and it made me excited about the prospect of making my own sketchbooks in the future.


The inspiration for this theme was taken from the following YouTube video:


Mark making with ink and found objects - Helen Wells


I Initially struggled with the pure abstract nature of the challenge, as I like to have a thought in my mind of what the finished piece will look like so I have a plan to work towards, but I had to really free myself up to do this.


This is where my gelli prints came in. I played with lots of different mark making tools on my gelli plate, and once they were dry, I used them in collage.


I decided to recycle paper I had from my mark making exercises I had done in module one of my foundation course, and use those as the basis of my collages. It felt great to find a purpose for some of my large mark making sheets that were just being stored away with no real purpose for them.


Here are my contributions to this sketchbook:




Here is my video sketchbook tour:



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page