top of page
Writer's pictureVicky Thompson

1. Marks and lines - Drawing blind




This is the second task involving the grater. Ceilidh cat ended up modelling the object for the cover photo this time. I can’t seem to do any artistic endeavour in the living room without her rather incessant assistance.


This exercise is almost the reverse of the previous one. Rather than the object being hidden and I could only see the paper as I drew for 5 minutes, this task I can look at the object and draw for 5 minutes, but the paper is hidden from my view.


Well…..an attempt was made.


I asked a few friends if they were able to identify them item, and they all manage to guess correctly, so I guess it must contain the right components for a cheese grater. It’s just a bit of a shame that none of those components appear to be in the right place.


I’m pleased with the lines I drew to represent the handle. They are almost in proportion with each other and are indicative of the angle I was viewing it at.


I’m also pleased I have continued to favour the more deliberate line work over the feathery marks I would have usually gravitated towards. It felt good to confidently draw the lines and not draw faint scratchy marks in the hope that one of them will be in the right place. They look purposeful and made with intent, despite their rather unusual placements. I think using lighter marks to help plan out the spacing, perspective and overall composition has a place and is important, I hope I can find the confidence to employ the deliberate and unbroken line work in future projects.

6 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page