top of page
Writer's pictureVicky Thompson

OCA Makers Session - Play

I was fortunate to participate in another makers day session on zoom, hosted by Diana Ali. The session focus this time is as “Play”


Firstly, we had to take a piece of work we did in our sketchbooks where we felt we worked too rigidly and re do it in new way playing with different size and different medium where you can be more expressive within 10 mins


I took a pencil drawing I did of a can originally in A5 and took a large brush, an A3 page in a sketchbook and watercolours which im still getting used to and created this.



It’s loose and the observational work isn’t there, but it has more character and expression than my more rigidly observed work did. It was great to try things I’d never had thought to do before


The next challenge we had to find something lying around the room, and recreate it using non art based materials.


I ended up using nail polish, lipstick, mascara, eyeshadow and eye pencil to create this drawing of a bottle of nail polish

Would never have crossed my mind to use old make up to make some work in my sketchbook.

Finally we were tasked with merging the elements of both precious experiments and picking the bits we liked to make a large piece (I did it over 2 pages of A4)


I used the big brush to sweep watercolour across the page as well as dripping bits of shimmery nail polish on it.


When I was thinking about play I thought about kids playing with a ball and started to draw circles and then it made me think of blowing bubbles.


It was great to do something free, expressive, messy, challenging and completely step outside of my usual artistic practice. Sure, none of these pieces will end up admired on a wall, but it got me creating and gave me ideas for stuff I might take into a more refined creative direction in the future.



4 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page