top of page
Writer's pictureVicky Thompson

Sketchbook circle 2022


I have been trying to fully embrace being a student at the OCA and being a remote learner by trying to participate in active student spaces. I have joined the OCA student discord server and have been having some lovely chats with students who are at all different stages in their OCA journey and are friendly, supportive and knowledgeable regardless of where you are on your own journey.


They recently set up a new sketchbook circle which I was invited to join. Due to my slighty tardy arrival to the circle, I will be participating digitally rather than being part of the physical posting of sketchbooks to each other.


The idea is we all follow the prompt of “everyday” and complete 5 pages in our own sketchbooks based on that prompt.

We then post that sketchbook on to the next person in the list, who will complete 5 pages in response to your work, who will then post it on to the next person and so forth.


The digital version of this will be uploading our sketch pages to a google drive and emailing them to the next person to upload their responses to.


I’m so excited to take part in this project as it’s giving me a purpose to start integrating my sketchbook practice into my daily life. I have been experimenting with different ideas, concept, materials and really challenging myself to be free with it. I’ve been quite excited to see how my pages have started to develop.


There is a module on one of the degree pathways where undertaking this project is a requirement, so if I choose to continue with my studies in the future, I will probably have to undertake this process again. Although I’d love to do the physical swapping of sketchbooks next time. Some of the students have created and bound their own sketchbooks which are absolutely stunning and are works of art in their own right.


I’ve just bought a book called “bound” by Rachel Hazell which details a few book binding projects. The book is absolutely stunning and I’ve found it so inspiring to see the images she’s included. I’m excited to try out some of these projects in future.


I have made a start on some of my sketchbook pages. I have decided to use the prompt of everyday as an invitation to use everyday items in the pursuit of creativity.


Here’s a progress update with how my pages are going so far:



Page 1 and 2

I used some packaging paper I found in my room. I chose it as I liked the texture and the pattern and wanted to try and incorporate layering into my sketchbook.

I ripped up bits of the scrunched up wrapping and glued the pieces into my sketchbook in a way where the pieces almost look like they had shattered. This reminded me of the Japanese Visual Mending technique Kinysugi.


more info available here:

Kintsugi: The centuries-old art of repairing broken pottery with gold (2022) My Modern Met. Available at: https://mymodernmet.com/kintsugi-kintsukuroi/ (Accessed: April 11, 2022).

I may layer on some drawings onto the textured paper but not sure what yet.


Page 3 and 4

These pages have been layered scraps and strips from a Boots prescription bag. My antidepressant medication forms an important part of my everyday, so I though that would be a good topic to explore for my next two pages.


The first page subverts the usual slogan on the bag into a question about life before medication.

This page is disjointed and none of the pieces fit. They are crumpled by the pressure and weight of life bearing down from above.


the next page is in uniform strips which are slowly knitting themselves back together. Real threads have been used in the cross to cross stitch the pieces together, and the right hand strip has been stitched with needle and thread. The strips are reminiscent of bars holding back the anxiety and depression.


The pages need some further drawings added


Page 5 and 6

Playing into the “everyday” I decided to use teabags to dye some paper. The next logical step was to include biscuit. I love the recognisable patterns on biscuits and I was desperate to see if I could print with them. Turns out, if you use a gelli plate, you can! The gelli allows the shape of the biscuit to remove the ink from the plate. It was harder doing it the other way as the face of the biscuit isn’t completely flat. They also kept crumbling, which was a challenge. I’m happy with the result though.


Just need to add a tea pot


Page 7-8 and Page 9-10

Well….. I misread the instructions and thought it was 5 pages not 10, so I still have two double page spreads to come up with ideas for.


oops

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page