top of page
Writer's pictureVicky Thompson

Sketchbook - Purrple Cat Cafe

No ceilidh cat this time. Dan and I went to Glasgow at the weekend and spent an hour at the purrple cat cafe in Glasgow. I foolishly thought I’d try and draw their furry residents.


I have never tried to draw cats from anything other than photographs, and wow was it a challenge. Trying to do observation work on critters that are moving their gaze every second was reeeeeally hard.




I find myself judging my sketchbook pages as not being good enough, accurate enough or showing my flaws. I’ll admit that, even on this page, I drew in an additional cat (top left) I drew from a photograph I took of one of the cats rather than just having the page full of rough real life observations, as I didn’t think the page was good enough.


Good enough for who? Why am I being so critical about something that is a process….a journey.


I need to relax and enjoy making mistakes.

Mistakes are how we grow and can take us to unexpected places.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page