top of page
Writer's pictureVicky Thompson

Sketchbook - ink and water



I have been spending time trying to fill my sketchbook for the sketchbook circle project on “everyday”.


I became aware that the mark making exercises I did for the first part of assignment 1 has really made an impact on my practice as I created 2 pages in my sketchbook by utilising the fractured marks made when you introduce water to a water based ink sketch.


I initially drew both these sketches in pencil but they were so flat and lifeless that I decided to experiment a bit more with the water and ink technique.


Sadly I didn’t think to take any “before” photos as I was in the zone, but adding the ink and the water gave these pieces life.


I’ve been using a really naff fountain pen that is temperamental, sometimes refusing to draw, and when it does it can be scratchy and difficult to control. I kinda liked that though, as it made drawing the lines a much more organic process and gave the pieces a bit of personality


This one I’ve called Tea and Biscuits:



The “mug” marks are intentional as I wanted to portray the action of tea and biscuits. To give an idea of it happening as you observe the piece. I also wanted to echo the circles of the jamie dodger and Oreo print, as well as the dots on the tea pot.


This one is called “Fridge door”



I used acrylic paint pen for the green and orange accents, and picked out a wee bit of the milk colouration using pencil crayon, but the rest of the shading, mark-making and colour bleeds are all a result of using the fountain pen and water.






Comments


bottom of page